Thursday, January 22, 2009

Long Time, No Post

Hey, so I'm still alive. Things are actually very good. Still at home and Villanova, but prospects are rising.

Currently employed at Best Buy in the Computers department as a sales representative. Apparently, I'm really good at convincing people to not only buy computers but also to purchase anti-virus/anti-spyware packages, extended warranties, accessories, etc. Well, I was only supposed to be a Seasonal Employee and guaranteed a job through the beginning of January. They liked me so much that I am now a Part-Time Employee. Well it isn't a desk-job, nor is it a position at the Geek Squad (what I originally applied for and what I still want, they didn't have any more Geek Squad positions available when I interviewed), but hey, work is work in this economy and pulling in money of any sort is a good thing.

I do feel a bit of the side effects of working at BBY, though. I have never been the most adamant supporter of Apple but now I have to actually sell them and provide people with the pros and explain why they want an Apple over a PC if they so choose. Yeah, I'm not really thrilled. At the same time, I've been seriously considering getting one of those $599 Mac Minis to play with them and get a better feel for Apple as well as potentially developing an App for the iPhone. Yeah. I feel a little dirty.

Then again, personally, I know that all the stuff I sell at BBY is stuff that I could do easily. It's why I wanted to be a Geek Squad agent because I'd be paid to essentially have fun at work. Yeah, I enjoy installing stuff on computers and removing programs for people. I dunno. For some reason I think it's fun. So there is a small part of me that constantly wars against the marketer that sells this stuff to people. But I also realize there's another side to the coin. Most people have no f***ing clue what to do with computers. If I had a dollar for every time someone said either "I have no idea about computers" or "I hate computers" or "I only use it for internet" at my job, I wouldn't need said job. So perhaps these people really do need these extras I'm selling to them. Yes, I can sleep at night. No, my soul is not an oozing black stain dripping from my ears. Some people really do have no idea how to operate a computer beyond the basics, if even.

So they gave me a Part-Time position. They also gave me a raise. Can't argue against that.

In addition, my classes went spectacularly! I earned A-'s in all of my classes, so things are looking amazing academically.

Movies that were excellent: The Spirit, Quantum of Solace
Movies that were okay: Yes Man, Bolt
Movies that were craptastic: Death Race, Max Payne

Still playing good ol' WoW. I have the GF busting on me to play Guild Wars with her. Going to have to make it a point to do so. I'm excited about the new seasons of Lost, Heroes, and Scrubs. Got to do something besides playing video games, and the social scene at home is the pits. Headed back out to Pittsburgh soon-ish for a weekend. If you're still reading this and you're out there, well, you have a semi-advanced warning. The people who need to know, know.

New year, new classes, better security of job. Things are looking good. Let's hope it transfers over to returning to CMU too. Perhaps this year off was good after all.