Saturday, April 25, 2009

The Arcade Fire - In The Backseat

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JMPxTwiIoD4&feature=related

Go ahead.  Watch it.  I'll be here, waiting for all 9 minutes to finish.

No really.  Go watch it.  All of it.

I'll be waiting.

...
...
...

Done?  Good.
I bumped into the Arcade Fire back in September.  I was idly browsing through Yahoo News, don't know why, but they had an article about anthemic bands.  Randomly, I decided to read the article.  Sure enough, they had a piece on this odd band called the Arcade Fire.  I didn't really know what it was or what it sounded like, but I decided to sample some of the songs from online.

I had heard their song "Neighborhood #3 (Power Out)" back in Freshman year of college and had thought it pretty good, even if the lead singer was iffy on the vocals.  It had a stirring rythmn and interesting melody.  But I had never really looked into them back then.

I found myself, last September, kinda into them, but not wholy encompassing my musical tastes.  I was still into the rage of Nine Inch Nails after coming off the summer of my academic suspension.  At that point, I was deeply interested in one of their songs, Antichrist Television Blues.

Fast Forward to early April this year.

I rediscovered the Arcade Fire randomly while YouTube surfing.  I finally watched some videos of their live performances and was absolutely floored.  The raw energy of this band and the meaning you could see them pouring into their music was astounding.

And then I came across this gem of a video.

Regine sings with such emotion.  The band plays and tries to keep up.  Each representing different aspects of the whole.  First, understand that this is the last song on their first studio album, Funeral, so titled because many of the members of the band lost family while it was being recorded.  This particular song directly references Regine's grandmother, Alice.

It starts so quietly, with sincere loss and sadness.  There is such loneliness that seems unsurmountable.  The imagery of learning to drive a car strikes with the feeling of growing up (don't all kids want to drive?) and the reluctance to have to deal with issues by oneself.

But then we see the other instruments come in.  We are denying that anything is wrong.  We are trying to make do like nothing has happened.  We are trying to hold ourselves together.

And then...  the facade falls apart.  We, like Regine, fall into despair as we lose ourselves.

Then the anger.  Richard Parry, the guy originally playing the double bass who picks up the one drum and bangs on it into the microphone.  His performance is as powerful as Regine's, with the fury of denial and anger that goes with loss.  It strikes a chord and is essentially to what is perhaps the pinnacle of the song.

Then the dissonance of the band as they leave the stage.  The dissonance of knowing that life will never be the same.

But oddly enough, from the audience themselves, comes perhaps one of the most interesting features.

Hope.

Hope in the form of humming/singing that haunting refrain back to an empty stage.  I see it as hope.  Perhaps it could be interpreted as false hope, but hope nonetheless.  A desire for something more, something greater.




All in one 9 minute video of a live show.

Thursday, January 22, 2009

Long Time, No Post

Hey, so I'm still alive. Things are actually very good. Still at home and Villanova, but prospects are rising.

Currently employed at Best Buy in the Computers department as a sales representative. Apparently, I'm really good at convincing people to not only buy computers but also to purchase anti-virus/anti-spyware packages, extended warranties, accessories, etc. Well, I was only supposed to be a Seasonal Employee and guaranteed a job through the beginning of January. They liked me so much that I am now a Part-Time Employee. Well it isn't a desk-job, nor is it a position at the Geek Squad (what I originally applied for and what I still want, they didn't have any more Geek Squad positions available when I interviewed), but hey, work is work in this economy and pulling in money of any sort is a good thing.

I do feel a bit of the side effects of working at BBY, though. I have never been the most adamant supporter of Apple but now I have to actually sell them and provide people with the pros and explain why they want an Apple over a PC if they so choose. Yeah, I'm not really thrilled. At the same time, I've been seriously considering getting one of those $599 Mac Minis to play with them and get a better feel for Apple as well as potentially developing an App for the iPhone. Yeah. I feel a little dirty.

Then again, personally, I know that all the stuff I sell at BBY is stuff that I could do easily. It's why I wanted to be a Geek Squad agent because I'd be paid to essentially have fun at work. Yeah, I enjoy installing stuff on computers and removing programs for people. I dunno. For some reason I think it's fun. So there is a small part of me that constantly wars against the marketer that sells this stuff to people. But I also realize there's another side to the coin. Most people have no f***ing clue what to do with computers. If I had a dollar for every time someone said either "I have no idea about computers" or "I hate computers" or "I only use it for internet" at my job, I wouldn't need said job. So perhaps these people really do need these extras I'm selling to them. Yes, I can sleep at night. No, my soul is not an oozing black stain dripping from my ears. Some people really do have no idea how to operate a computer beyond the basics, if even.

So they gave me a Part-Time position. They also gave me a raise. Can't argue against that.

In addition, my classes went spectacularly! I earned A-'s in all of my classes, so things are looking amazing academically.

Movies that were excellent: The Spirit, Quantum of Solace
Movies that were okay: Yes Man, Bolt
Movies that were craptastic: Death Race, Max Payne

Still playing good ol' WoW. I have the GF busting on me to play Guild Wars with her. Going to have to make it a point to do so. I'm excited about the new seasons of Lost, Heroes, and Scrubs. Got to do something besides playing video games, and the social scene at home is the pits. Headed back out to Pittsburgh soon-ish for a weekend. If you're still reading this and you're out there, well, you have a semi-advanced warning. The people who need to know, know.

New year, new classes, better security of job. Things are looking good. Let's hope it transfers over to returning to CMU too. Perhaps this year off was good after all.

Friday, October 3, 2008

VP Debates

OMG PALIN

CAN YOU ANSWER THE QUESTION YOU ARE ASKED?

LIKE, REALLY?

WOULD IT HURT TO DO THAT?

IS IT NOT ON YOUR CUE CARDS?

REALLY?

 . . . REALLY?

Saturday, August 23, 2008

From the Land of Floridia

Meh, long time no post. Been busy. Very busy.

So, last Thursday, my father followed through and all four of us and my two little cousins were packed into an airplane for Florida after waking up at 4am to get to the airport on time.

First stop, Orlando and Disney World. It is still a lot of fun to go there, but this time my brother and I were dragging our cousins on the rides we wanted to go on. We did Magic Kingdom first. The Haunted Mansion's Attic Scene is actually really neat. It goes by fast but the changes they made to update it are very interesting. Aside from that, the rides were more of the same. We got stuck on Buzz Lightyear's Space Ranger Spin again, at that same point. So, I had a repeat of my maxing out the score to 999,999 points and this time I helped my brother max his score out too. So we looked at each other and laughed the rest of the ride, spinning aimlessly and goofing around.

Then we hit Typhoon Lagoon. Fun ensued. Then Disney's HOLLYWOOD Studios. Frickin' renaming. Used to be Disney MGM Studios. Blah. Anyways, we got the girls on the Tower of Terror. The tiny one loved it, the lanky one was scared stiff. Once again, blah. The Toy Story Mania ride is actually very good, but it had 80 minutes, 70, 80, 100 minute wait line each time we saw it. We just rode Single-Rider and things were okay. The ride is a bunch of cannon shooter panels you go past (3D glasses on and everything). It is simple and cool, but if they applied the technology to a better story, it has the potential to be so much better.

Then we hit Disney Quest. My brother and I two-man the Invasion game, which should be 4 people. I drive and shoot in the front, he shoots double in the back. We actually beat 1k points and saved 27/27 Colonists that spawned for us, which was a really cool new record for the two of us. We once had a worker there watching our game in awe and telling us about how the Disney Quest employees hold contests amongst themselves in teams to do well in Invasion. DQ was fun. We watched someone mash two of the Astro Blaster bumper cars and get them stuck so badly the employees couldn't fix it. Bumper cars with foam ball cannons = tons of fun, by the way. Go Disney on that one.

We saw Tropic Thunder. Very good movie. Go see it. "I'M A LEAD FARMA', MOTHA'FUCKA'!"

'Nuff said.

We avoided Tropical Storm Fay, though felt it a bit. And then we were in Naples for a few days. not too bad, helped to relax, though the girls were getting really annoying by the last day of the trip.

We went and saw Death Race, my brother and I. It is R-rate Mario Kart. They have freakin power ups to drive over to engage weapons or defences. When the bitch warden said "Activate the Swords and Shields" and it was explained, we looked at each other and couldn't help but laugh for a good 5 minutes. They drive over the symbols to get the ability to use guns to kill each other. Now, stop me if you've heard of this before. Drive over powerups to get weapons. Sounds like an awesome concept for a video game, right? Gee, I hope it hasn't been done before...

*facepalm*

I still want to go see The Rocker and Star Wars: The Clone Wars. Meh, at some point. Classes start for me on Monday. MTR is my schedule, nights starting at 6pm. I interviewed with Circuit City to get a tech support job. I feel really positive about my interview and hope I get the job. I'll let you know if I do.

So yeah, I'm alive still. Need a more permanent job, but that's en route. Getting there, but this is okay for now, I suppose.

Sleep now. Screw the labels for the post.

-Bagger

Thursday, July 31, 2008

Sunday, July 27, 2008

Weekend Update

Went out and saw The Dark Knight for a second time. This time I saw it with my father. He agreed, very well done but very dark.

My brother and I drove out to Dorney Park and ran around there on Saturday. It was a lot of fun because they opened a new coaster called Voodoo. We hit all of their coasters like 2 or 3 times. I love roller coasters. Voodoo was really interesting because we figured out how they used magnetic propulsion to launch the cars forward and backwards. We rode it three times, in the front, middle, and very back. Each time was a different experience. The back was actually my favorite, because you hung sideways, facing the ground, the most, giving a very intense experience, especially when the cars pause for a second facing downwards.

A new Protomen song was leaked via YouTube. "Father of Death." This song continues my love of this band. They really do have a very unique and varied brand of music, able to switch genres multiple times in one album. I cannot wait for their second album, titled Act II.

I got tired of the Drama Llamas in WoW. I moved my rising Gnome Warrior, Tibblebonke, over to my original server. At least there I have access to more cash, items, etc. And people. I was getting tired of logging on alone.

I also tried out Lord of the Rings Online and Star Wars Galaxies... SWG was bland. LotRO is actually decent, but my computer lags a bit when playing it, so I'm not inclined to switch from WoW.

I might be going back to Pittsburgh this weekend... I need to talk to a few people and see what's going on. That and it would be nice to be back for my Big's last day of classes and graduation from CMU. If he's reading this, well, you'll get a call soon-ish.

Tomorrow night is D&D. I need to remember to log on and see what we can do. I'm probably going to fill out and sit down with a Starbucks application tomorrow just to do it and get a base part-time job for now. And it would keep me busy on weekends during the semester.

My brother is still having issues with the Wireless router at his place, so the Tech Support (read: me) might get summoned back across Jersey to help him out *sigh*, but family is family. And its fun to actually make things work.

I'll tag this later. A little tired now. Biked up the Delaware river for breakfast and back, and up the big hill to my house. Three days of wearing myself down (day in sun at beach on Friday without suntan lotion = burnt Bagger + no suntan lotion at themepark = more burnt Bagger).

Who's Red on Top and Pukey Pale Nerd White on the Other Side,
-Bagger

Thursday, July 24, 2008

God Save Us All

My parents are at a Kenny Chesney concert...


My brother is coming home this weekend. We will commence the proper exorcism rituals to rescue my parents from the vile and foul grip of Country Music.

Pray for us, that we might be strong.

-Bagger